• Terry Fox Carousel

  • In 2017, Canada celebrates 150 years and Marine Atlantic is proud to join in the celebration.  Portholes to the Past vignettes celebrate Marine Atlantic and its role in connecting Canadians, from far and wide.

    Every year, Marine Atlantic connects more than 300,000 visitors to and from Newfoundland and Labrador, creating lasting memories for travellers.  As you explore Canada this year, consider these portholes to the past and how they have helped shape our great country.


  • Terry Fox Thumbnail


  • On April 12, 1980, Terry Fox dipped his foot in the Atlantic Ocean at Canada’s easternmost capital, St. John's, NL. Twenty-five days later, he reached Port aux Basques on Newfoundland’s west coast. Marine Atlantic connected him to mainland Canada so that he could continue his Marathon of Hope. His legacy lives on through the millions of dollars that The Terry Fox Foundation continues to raise for cancer research.




  • SS Bruce Thumbnail



  • In 1898, the SS Bruce began offering direct passage between Port aux Basques, NL and North Sydney, NS. This vital marine link complemented the Newfoundland Railway — together, they offered modern transportation that made long weekend getaways possible. The first voyage carried passengers from Newfoundland to Cape Breton, to enjoy Dominion Day festivities with their Canadian neighbours.




  • MV Atlantic Freighter Thumbnail



  • As the 1990-91 Persian Gulf War loomed, the U.S. Navy’s Military Sealift Command chartered the MV Atlantic Freighter to transport supplies. A Marine Atlantic crew volunteered to make the perilous trip, entering the Gulf in the midst of war. They safely delivered their cargo and returned to North Sydney, NS to relieved families and a hero’s welcome.




  • MV William Carson Thumbnail



  • The first ferry to bring both cars and passengers to and from Newfoundland, the MV William Carson was commissioned in 1955. Imagine the excitement as passengers could now drive their vehicles onto the ferry. For road trip enthusiasts, it ushered in a whole new era of travel. Now Canadians could truly explore the country from coast to coast by automobile. 




  • Hurricane thumbnail



  • Hurricane Igor devastated parts of Newfoundland and Labrador in September 2010. When the Canadian Forces needed to transport military personnel and emergency supplies to the province, Marine Atlantic and its employees were there to help. The MV Joseph and Clara Smallwood transported troops and equipment to Argentia to ensure that vital resources reached hard-hit communities as quickly as possible.




  • MV Trepassey Thumbnail




  • The MV Trepassey was crucial to trade from 1945-63. Part of the so-called “Splinter Fleet” — 10 wooden boats crafted by master shipbuilders in Clarenville, NL during World War II — it carried salt cod to the Caribbean, and returned loaded with goods such as coal, molasses and Jamaican rum to be bottled as Newfoundland Screech.



  • Share your Canada 150 memories with us


  •    

  •

• Terry Fox Carousel FR

  • En 2017, le Canada célèbre son 150e anniversaire et Marine Atlantique est fière de participer à la célébration.  Les vignettes Hublots donnant sur le passé célèbrent Marine Atlantique et le rôle qu'il joue pour relier le Canada, d'un océan à l'autre.


    Chaque année, Marine Atlantique relie plus de 300 000 visiteurs vers et en provenance de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, créant des souvenirs inoubliables pour les voyageurs.  Alors que vous explorerez le Canada cette année, réfléchissez à ces hublots donnant sur le passé et à la façon dont ils ont contribué à façonner notre grand pays.



  • Terry Fox Thumbnail


  • Le 12 avril 1980, Terry Fox a trempé sa jambe dans l'océan Atlantique dans la capitale la plus à l'est du Canada, soit à St. John's à T.-N.-L. Vingt-cinq jours plus tard, il a atteint Port aux Basques sur la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve. Marine Atlantique l'a relié à la partie continentale du Canada afin qu'il puisse continuer son Marathon de l'espoir. Son héritage vit à travers les millions de dollars que la Fondation Terry Fox continue d'amasser pour la recherche sur le cancer. 




  • SS Bruce Thumbnail



  • En 1898, le Bruce a commencé à offrir un passage direct entre Port aux Basques à T.-N.-L. et North Sydney en N.-É. Ce lien maritime vital a complété le chemin de fer de Terre-Neuve. Ensemble, ils offraient un transport moderne qui rendaient possible des escapades de longues fins de semaines. Le premier voyage comptait des passagers de Terre-Neuve se rendant au Cap-Breton pour participer aux festivités de la fête du Dominion avec leurs voisins canadiens. 




  • MV Atlantic Freighter Thumbnail



  • Alors que la guerre du golfe Persique de 1990-91 était imminente, le Military Sealift Command de la marine américaine a affrété le Atlantic Freighter pour transporter des fournitures. Un équipage de Marine Atlantique s'est porté volontaire pour faire un voyage périlleux, entrant dans le golfe en pleine guerre. Ils ont livré leur cargaison et sont retournés à North Sydney en N.-É. au soulagement de leur famille et ils ont été accueillis en héros. 




  • MV William Carson Thumbnail




  • Le premier traversier à transporter des voitures et des passagers vers et en provenance de Terre-Neuve, le William Carson a été mis en service en 1955. Imaginez l'enthousiasme des passagers qui pouvaient dorénavant monter à bord du traversier en voiture. Pour les passionnés des périples en voiture, il a ouvert la voie à une toute nouvelle ère de voyage. Maintenant, les Canadiens pouvaient vraiment alors explorer le pays d'un océan à l'autre en automobile. 



  • Hurricane thumbnail



  • L'ouragan Igor a dévasté certaines parties de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en septembre 2010. Lorsque les Forces canadiennes ont eu besoin de transporter du personnel militaire et des fournitures d’urgence dans la province, Marine Atlantique et ses employés ont répondu à l'appel. Le Joseph and Clara Smallwood a transporté les troupes et l’équipement à Argentia afin de s'assurer que les ressources vitales se rendaient aussi rapidement que possible aux communautés les plus touchées. 



  • MV Trepassey Thumbnail




  • Le Trepassey a tenu un rôle essentiel pour le commerce de 1945 à 1963. Faisant partie de la flotte « Splinter », 10 navires en bois fabriqués par les maîtres constructeurs de navires à Clarenville à T.-N.-L. pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il transportait de la morue salée vers les Caraïbes et revenait chargé de produits tels que du charbon, de la mélasse et du rhum jamaïcain devant être mis en bouteille sous le nom de Newfoundland Screech. 



  • Partagez vos souvenirs de Canada 150 avec nous


  •    

  •